PDA

View Full Version : Beware the Unmedicated Masses

cathcoug
07-30-2010, 01:27 AM
I work in the mental health field so I think about this a lot. So many people in the US are dependent on some kind of mood altering medication, from Prozac to anti-psychotics. What happens to them when the pharmacies are empty and the meds run out? Most psychotropic medications require a step down period in order to avoid sometimes debilitating withdrawal symptoms and yet most people who take these medications have no more than a 30 day supply on hand. Strange as it may sound, any medication that alters a persons mood is going to be very much sought after when the SHTF. Most of us are likely stocking up on pain killers and antibiotics but I have never heard of anyone stashing away Celexa or Clonopin, either for their own legitimate needs or for batering. I can only speak for myself, but I would not care to be on any psychiatric medications at this point in the game but for those of us who are, and really need to be, you should probably have a plan in place for after the crash. Just throwing this out there as I have never seen this discussed before.

Patriotic Sheepdog
07-30-2010, 06:51 AM
Yes you are correct. There will be many people suffering if they can't have their "prozac" like drug. I feel you will see the majority of trouble between 30 and 120 days. This is because some people just get the monthly supply and others get the 3 month supply. After they have been off drug for a few days they will start experiencing "withdrawls". Some people have been on meds (sometimes multiple psychotropic medis and narcotics together) for quite a while. I believe they will get dangerous to some degree because the withdrawls will not be pleasant. I am not planning on storing any of the psychotropic type meds as I don't want to try and keep up on another med. YMMV

protus
07-30-2010, 07:40 AM
i think a 8035 mg dose of wolfenoyl would work? dont you think ;p