PDA

View Full Version : Question about shooting techniques

max velocity
08-07-2012, 03:13 PM
I have a question. I come to shooting from a military and private security contractor perspective. I have been picking things up that I have seen in the media and wondering about them. Lately, I managed to see Doomsday Preppers for the first time and there was an example there: a female was being trained by a "contract sniper" (what the hell?!!!) and she was on the range with a handgun and walking towards the target as she fired. Others were doing similar in other shows.

What is this about?

Is this an IPSC thing? I have no experience of IPSC.

I don't get why you would do it. Return fire, seek cover, return fire. If I'm moving, I'm either being covered (fire and movement) or I'm running like hell to cover if I'm on my own. Walking slowly towards the target will just mess up my aim and make me vulnerable to any other shooters, flanking fire, mutually supporting positions or shooters.

There are limited time when I would fire on the move, such as in enclosed spaces such as buildings, maybe moving down a corridor, or perhaps when very close to the enemy, overrunning their position or similar.

Why are beginner shooters being taught to do this, when they should be taught the basics of marksmanship, and also the benefit of cover?

Very curious.

max velocity
08-07-2012, 03:19 PM