JRH Products
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bad starter?

Bad starter?

I'm not a mechanic and I didn't stay at Holiday Inn last night....

Backhoe began starting harder a few uses back- erererer vroooom. Then began getting a click every other time the key was turned, then started fine. Now 9 times out of 10 just the click.

Battery voltage is good, cables at the battery look o.k and tight, cleaned them anyways and reconnected.

Not being a mechanic, I ASSUME that the cable goes to the starter first after that? Looked like the same cable anyways. One time earlier I had to tighten that connection a bit, then it started better. Now those connections are still tight but click when key is turned.

Currently just at the click noise nothing more stage, with battery showing correct voltage and a solar charger sitting on it for a few weeks now keeping trickle charged.

Starter? What else should I check? Thanks
    Boris- "He's famous, has picture on three dollar bill!"

Rocky- "Wow! I've never even seen a three dollar bill!"

Boris- "Is it my fault your poor?"

Gold Site supporter 2014- thank you!
    Put a meter on the battery, hit the start button and see how much of a drop you get.
    Sometimes batteries will show the correct voltage but will not work because of an internal short or a bad cell.
    If it's clicking and the battery is good (might try it while giving it a jump) it could be the solenoid. Could try jumping the solenoid.
    Or if you can get to it, try jumping directly to the starter connection.
    Dennis

2013 Site Supporter jimmycthemd's Avatar
    Blog Entries